One of the most tragic things about 20th Century architecture in London is that there were a whole host of beautiful old buildings that were demolished, not by WW2 bombs, but by 60s planners. St. Pancras was fortunately saved from this fate thanks to the likes of John Betjeman. Euston Station, just down the road, wasn’t so fortunate.
In 1961 the grand Great Hall of Euston Station was swept away, along with the famous Euston Arch, to make way for the modern terminus that still stands today. This is what was lost:
According to the Euston Arch trust, “the station was the first mainline terminus station opened in a capital city anywhere in the world. It was opened on July 20, 1837, as the terminus of the London and Birmingham Railway constructed by Robert Stephenson and architect, Philip Hardwick . The station first had only two platforms, one for departures and one for arrivals.
It was also Hardwick who designed the Euston Arch, a 70 feet 6 inches high Doric propylaeum, the largest ever built and which formed the entrance to the station. The grit stone structure complemented the Ionic entrance to the Curzon Street Station in Birmingham (which still exists) which was the other end of the railway’s mainline.”
In the above photo, Euston Road runs along the very bottom and Euston Square can clearly be distinguished on the North side. The arch and station frontage can be seen towards the centre of the image, much further back than today’s concourse from Euston Road; in fact, the entrance was on Drummond Street which was cut off with the building of the modern station (left).
The demolition of the arch and buildings were actually considered much earlier than the 60s. “In the late 1930s the London Midland and Scottish Railway company proposed a compete rebuilding of the complex according to an American-inspired design by Percy Thomas. Returning from a tour of modern stations in the United States, he proposed a large stripped-Classical block with wings which incorporated the station, a hotel and offices. There were considerations to move the arch to another site. Ultimately the plans for re-construction were never realised, the Second World War commencing shortly afterwards.
More recently, plans have been floated to try and rebuild the Euston Arch with the construction of a new concourse in preparation for the future High Speed 2 line. Whilst this is excellent news, as the CGI below shows, more work needs to go into the proposed buildings to even come close to recreating the awe and intrigue of the lost Great Hall.
Click here to see the few objects that remain from the old Euston Station.
Also did you know that the Crown Jewels were stolen from Westminster Abbey in 1303 (most items were recovered but not everything!), and there was another attempt in 1671 when the Irishman Thomas Blood carried out a successful raid of the Jewel House at the Tower of London. Having knocked the jewel keeper on the head with a mallet, he squashed the arches of Charles II’s state crown so as to hide it under his cloak whilst his son started to saw the Sceptre in half! Their friend Robert Perot stuck the Orb down his breeches. Just as they were about to escape, the keeper’s son returned unexpectedly and raised the alarm. Blood was arrested, but no-one’s sure quite why, but ‘the merry monarch’, Charles II, pardoned Blood and in fact gave him a pension! After Blood’s escapade, security was tightened, iron bars replaced the wooden ones around the Regalia, and, from then on, visitors were not allowed to touch the Crown Jewels.
Thus if this building started at ground level it would actually come to the height of Big Ben’s clock face!